Book Review: Anything You Want


Nomination for book cover fail of alltime: &qu...
Image by Andrew-Hyde via Flickr

At the recommendation of Kat Fulton and Rachel Rambach, two amazing music therapist, I took a risk and purchased yet another book today. I managed to read all of “Anything You Want” by Derek Sivers while I worked out this afternoon. Yes, an hour read or less. I downloaded the Kindle version this morning and received a gift of music to boot. I have taken a little time to listen to the downloads. Now I have a few new favorite songs!

While it is a business book it is so much more.  It has things to take into life. Here are two quotes as examples. The first is from page 11:

Success comes from persistently improving and inventing, not from persistently doing what’s not working.”

And from page 51:

…it’s about what you want to be not what you want to have.

To have something…is the means, not the end.  To be something…is the real point.

The book is one I will read again. A music business model that is customer centered seems to transfer in many ways to a music therapy business – a client centered profession. Have you read this book? If so, please share them in the comments below.

5 Replies to “Book Review: Anything You Want”

  1. Nice job. As my company’s core identity and name reflect the spirit of kaizen, the quote on page 11 that you sited really spoke to me. But Mr. Sivers’ book drew me in from page one as I describe in my review at http://www.jakzen.wordpress.com And what I wish I had included in my review you nailed. This is so much more than a business book. It’s about how to treat others and be true to oneself.

    1. Thank you for sharing your review. There was so much in the book, it was difficult to select one or two things to share. You are on target when you say the book is about “how to treat others and be true to oneself.”

Comments are closed.