Hey, I’m Imperfect!


“Owning our story can be hard but nearly as difficult as spending our lives running from it. Embracing our vulnerabilities is risky but not nearly as dangerous as giving up on love and belonging and joy – the experiences that light.”  ~ pg. 6, location 258

This quote closes the introduction to Brene Brown’s The Gifts of Imperfection”.  This is a book I will reread time and time again. Often I am reminded of my imperfections, leaving me secretly wondering (in my heart)  if I am good enough while my head said that everyone makes mistakes.  Guess what:

imperfect.

Image by karin ramaker via Flickr

It is generally easy for me to forgive others for their imperfections and mistakes. It is generally more difficult for me to forgive myself. Admittedly, the self talk is generally something along the lines of “What will they think when they find out I goofed up?” Yup, shame is my buddy.

If you, too, have struggled with similar thoughts, I highly recommend reading this book along with following Brene’s blog: Ordinary Courage.

Lest you think I am down on myself, I’m not. Rather I know:

“…I am imperfect and vulnerable and sometimes afraid, but that doesn’t change the truth that I am also brave and worthy of love and belonging.” pg. 1, location 174

Imperfect Beauty

Imperfect Beauty by ToniVC via Flickr

