Keep Your Head Up!


Facial emotions.
Image via Wikipedia

Last week on the Music Sparks site I shared the need to “Weave Me the Sunshine”. I seem to have my emotional antenna up these days. First, I decided to purchase “The Gifts of Imperfection” by Brene Brown, Ph.D. I’ve just started reading the book, but I am finding it a fascinating read. Vanessa Busch describes general premise of the book as:

“…above all other ingredients of living an emotionally healthy life is the importance of loving ourselves. In the grips of what she took to be a breakdown, or midlife crisis, Brown came to understand she was experiencing a “spiritual awakening” and worked to explore its significance and the interaction of knowing and understanding yourself and loving yourself. She intersperses her own personal journey with research and clinical observations of others of the work of living a “wholehearted” life, or “engaging in our lives from a place of worthiness.” The point is to embrace life and oneself with all the imperfections, releasing the stress of overdoing and overworking. Brown offers exercises for readers to plumb their own emotions and begin to develop the kind of resilience needed to stand up to unrealistic expectations of others and ourselves.”

Be watching for future posts about my journey through this book.

Next, I heard a song this week that speaks to emotions while riding in the car with my teenage daughter. Take a listen.

Do you think it speaks to dealing with our emotions in a genuine way? Why or why not? Please share your thoughts in the comments below,

One Reply to “Keep Your Head Up!”

Comments are closed.