September Thoughts


Girl under leaves.

Image via Wikipedia

What things run through your mind when you hear September? Football? Cooler weather? Sweaters? Apple cider? Bonfires?

Living in the northern hemisphere, colored leaves becoming an increasingly familiar site. Seeing their bold color in the trees. Watching a leaf fall to the ground. The smell of leaves as they are raked and gathered from the lawn.

One of my joys as a parent was having my daughter help me rake the leaves into a pile. Before we would bag them, we would reward ourselves by jumping into the mound. As a child, I remember hours of entertainment from raking and jumping. Now my daughter is a teen. I tend to use the lawn mower to gather the leaves. But, maybe, just maybe I’ll let my inner child once more relish the raking, the jumping, the smell of fall leaves.

One thought on “September Thoughts

  1. Pingback: September Thoughts | Jordan Enterprise in Music

Comments are closed.