In the Twinkling of an Eye


My eye

Three life events have impacted my life this week and brought a portion  of 1 Corinthians Chapter 15 to my mind:

Listen, I will tell you a mystery! We will not all die, but we will all be changed, in a moment, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet. For the trumpet will sound, and the dead will be raised imperishable, and we will be changed. For this perishable body must put on imperishability, and this mortal body must put on immortality. When this perishable body puts on imperishability, and this mortal body puts on immortality, then the saying that is written will be fulfilled:
‘Death has been swallowed up in victory.’
‘Where, O death, is your victory?
Where, O death, is your sting?’
The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law. But thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.

The first two event are recent deaths of two people with ties to Hays. The first was a gentleman I met through my work at Sterling House. He had a love of music, dancing (especially polkas), family and God. I will truly miss his smiling face and the sound of his voice in my groups. Yet, I feel blessed to have had him in my life. The second is CW2 Bryan Nichols, a 31-year-old Army pilot who was one of the 30 American y personal killed when their Chinook helicopter was shot down in Afghanistan on August 6, 2011. I never knew him But, the outpouring of the community, the showing of the Patriot Patrol, the American Legion Riders Post 173 , and photos with his sons have greatly moved  me.

The third item is watching my husband work on the arrangement of a 9/11 Requiem he has composed for premiere this fall by the Fort Hays State Wind Ensemble and Choirs. His desire to share thoughts and emotions is part of why I love him.

Surrounding all of this is Twitter conversation regarding faith, belief, and what a therapist/doctor should or shouldn’t share.

Here are the thoughts this has stirred in me:

  • We should take time to appreciate the people in our lives. None of  us knows for certain when if or when we will see that person again.
  • We should take time to appreciate the small things. Sunsets, a touch. laughter, a smell, a taste – these are the things that fill a lifetime.
  • No matter the cause of death, people deserve the space to morn. And, people deserve our support when preparing for a death and after the death.
  • My role with a client means I meet their spiritual needs whether they are mine or not. I learn enough about the role of faith in a client’s life to help them gather the support they need. I am not there to change their beliefs to match mine.
  • I can live out my baptismal promise by treating others with love and respect. My actions, my love are a testimony sometimes more powerful than words.
  • Grieving is a process. So much has been written about this, so I won’t go into details. But, it seems important to remind ourselves of this from time to time especially with the 10th anniversary of 9/11 approaching.

Looking into each others eyes and truly listening can forever change a relationship. I chose to live life sharing that twinkle in my eyes. How about you?

One Reply to “In the Twinkling of an Eye”

Comments are closed.