I Hear Laughter (in the rain)


Child in a rain coat
Image via Wikipedia

As I write this, my mind is playing Neil Sedaka’s “Laughter in the Rain”.  It is a tune from my teen years that brings good memories. Giggly teenage love comes to mind. Splashing in puddles. Playing outside in a gentle rain.

Some of the recent posts I have seen on Twitter indicate people are excited to see the rain, smiling and laughing when it arrives in areas dry from the drought and heat.  Even those who have just washed their cars are saying it is worth it to have it rain again.

I’ll be honest, it has been ages since last I took the opportunity to splash in the rain let alone laugh in the rain. I’m always trying to get some place. Or there is hail and lightening involved making it not safe.

Just like rain that is safe to play in and rain that is unsafe, there are rain songs that are happy and rain songs that are sad. For this post, I thought I would toss out a few happy ones for your consideration:

  • Eddie Rabbit “I Love the Rainy Night”
  • “Singing in the Rain”
  • Natasha Bedingfield “Unwritten”
  • Yiruma’s “Kiss the Rain”

Here are a few questions for you:

  1. When did you last play in the rain?
  2. What keeps you from playing in the rain?
  3. When did you last laugh?
  4. What makes you laugh?
  5. What is your favorite rain song?
