Questions? Answer with Song


Question book-new
Image via Wikipedia

As most of my readers know, I work with children and older adults. Children ask questions. “Why” is a common question. Older adults also ask questions though of a different nature. As I provide services in assisted living facilities the questions tend to be similar to these: What’s for lunch? Do I know you?

Asking questions is important. They make us aware of gaps in our knowledge. Questioning allows us, encourages us to explore. Questions can drive research and learning.

Many songs address questions. In the course of a couple of minutes I thought of these:

Most of these are songs I heard as a child. Most are serious questions while others are silly.  Yet, they all speak to me.  Here are some questions I asked myself and encourage you to ask yourself:

  • What question songs come to your mind?
  • When did you learn/hear them?
  • Do they ask questions that still resonate in your life? If so, why do they resonate?
  • What questions would you like to have a song answer for you right now in your life?

I leave you with a thought-provoking favorite I learned the 1970’s :”Land of Odin”.

One Reply to “Questions? Answer with Song”

Comments are closed.