It’s all in your head!


Facepalm photo.

Image via Wikipedia

Looking through a calendar, I notice June 5-11 is National Headache Awareness Week.  Headaches are no fun. Some people don’t consider headaches that big of a deal. Many women in my family suffer from migraines. Having had only a couple in my life, I have an appreciation for the misery they bring  and am thankful I don’t suffer them very often. Even “lesser” headaches can be a problem.

Most of my headaches are related to illness and sinus issues. Some are related to pinched nerves in my neck. This information informs me to be sure I do stretches for my neck especially if I spend much time in front of a computer and monitor for seasonal allergies to decrease my chances of developing a headache.

When I experience a headache, I assess the probable causes and treat accordingly.  Often that means taking a few minutes to lie down in a darkened room with quiet relaxing music playing while allowing medications (allergy or pain or Icy Hot rubbed on my neck) to take effect. So far, I have not had headaches with sudden onset and unknown causes (possible signs of a stroke), but I know to call the doctor if this should occur.

I encourage you to take some time during this week to consider your headaches, their causes, and possible ways to decrease their frequency in your life. And, consider sharing how do you cope with headaches.

Until my next post, I wish you good health.

2 thoughts on “It’s all in your head!

  1. I suffer from migraines on occasion. A few years ago, I was having migraines at least once a month. It took time to figure out the root cause (I thought it was stress, but it was actually hormonal.), but once I did, I realized that I could identify the onset of symptoms sooner. Now I recognize one right away and can treat with a combination of ibuprofen and acetaminophen. This, plus caffeine, are in Excedrin Migraine. Sometimes just some caffeine alone will do the trick. I never take anything else, no matter what kind of headache it is, and it takes care of the headache within 30 minutes. I think the caffeine may help me so well because I have very little of it in my diet to begin with.

    • Knowing the trigger is a big deal. I have a friend who is allergic to chocolate. If she consumes any, she gets a migraine. Thanks for sharing what works for you!

Comments are closed.