Slow Exercise


"Tai-chi" exercises being perfoemed ...

Image via Wikipedia

Most people don’t relate slow with exercise. We generally think of speed, duration, heart rate, …you get the idea. Yet many also know about forms of exercise like yoga and tai chi which are less time structured. Personally, I enjoy vinyasa yoga and Tai Chi Chih.

A few years ago, I ready about slow weight lifting. After reading this chapter of “In Praise of Slowness” I finally decided to give it a try. It is amazing how difficult it is to lift weights with little moment and working against gravity. If you use or try this form of lifting, I would love to hear of your experiences.

A form of exercises of which I had not heard of highlighted was Chi Kung. The explanations and applications presented in the book make it something I’d like to explore.

Do you practice any slow forms of exercise? If so, which one(s)? How do you find them beneficial?

3 thoughts on “Slow Exercise

  1. Pingback: Life Applications of Slowness « Musical Gems

  2. Pingback: Life Applications Of Slowness | Jordan Enterprise in Music

Comments are closed.