Finding Tempo Giusto


il giusto tempo - the right time
Image by giuseppesavo via Flickr

Over the last year, I have tried to identify the correct pacing for my life — the hours I spend on business, exercise, self-development, housework, family life… As a person who enjoys home decorating and landscaping, one of the websites I have followed the past year is Slow Homes Studio. On this site, John Brown and Matthew North share their thoughts and ideas for slow homes:

“designed to be more personally satisfying, environmentally responsible, and economically reasonable than a fast house.”

Slow Homes encouraged me to read “In Praise of Slowness” by Carl Honore. Being a music therapist, it was wonderful to see the term “tempo giusto” applied to life. Tempo giusto means “at the correct speed”. This book defines slow as:

“…calm, careful, receptive, still, intuitive, unhurried, patient, reflective, quality-over-quantity.  It is about making real and meaningful connections–with people, culture, work, food, everything. The parados is that Slow does not always mean slow.”

Honore sums up the slow philosophy with the word balance. Being at tempo giusto means being in control of  our own life’s rhythm in any context. When I live at my tempo giusto, I feel “groovy”! 

Over the next few posts, I hope to share more of my thoughts on this book. Given my tempo guisto, I may at times interject other topics while I seek ways to best share my reflections. Have you read the book? If so, I’d love to hear your thoughts on the concept of tempo guisto. If not, I would encourage you to add it to your reading list.

7 Replies to “Finding Tempo Giusto”

  1. I think you’re on to something here. Enjoying life in a simple, unhurried fashion is certainly the path to being in the present moment. Our brains “THINK” they are in charge, but it is really a deeper, more soulful place that should be piloting the experience. Good luck with your process. The world needs more of us to find it and pass it on!

  2. Thank you so much for this post! I’m on a constant mission to do the same in my life/environment. You’ve inspired me to re-visit “In Praise of Slowness”… I’ve had this book for a while (thanks to the hubs) and have only been reading it now and then. 🙂 Of course, Edward sees this book as reason to encourage more walkable/livable communities.

    Looking forward to the rest of your thoughts on this.

    1. For me, the book as a whole views “slowness” as individual choices. And, much can be said for walkable when you live in a metro area with public transportation and have generally decent weather. I am always amazed how few residential sidewalks there are in Florida. When last we lived there, we could walk to an elementary school, branch library, Walgreens, and grocery story if we were getting just a few things. (My weekly grocery load made the car necessary.)

Comments are closed.