Archetypes


I love to learn.  Reading is one way I do that.  Sometimes what I read allows me a different perspective.  A new perspective is what I received by reading “The Hero and the Outlaw – Building Extraordinary Brands Through the Power of Archetypes” by Margaret Marks & Carol S. Pearson. This book was informative as a consumer, as one marketing a business, and as one associating with other businesses.

Marks & Pearson discuss the twelve archetypes: innocent, explorer, sage, hero, outlaw, magician, regular guy/gal, lover, jester, caregiver, creator, and ruler.  Examples are given of brands and marketing for each. Core desires, goals, fears, strategies, traps, and gifts are highlighted  along with levels for them.

Since reading the book, I have a different perspective on advertisements.  I now try to identify the archetype of the business and see if that company/brand is consistent within it.  It also has me questioning my own marketing and business.  Currently, I am processing what I have read & assessing my businesses.

If you have read this book or others about archetypes, I’d love to hear your thoughts.  (If you are interested in this book, you can learn more about it by clicking on “Fun Stuff to Buy” at the bottom of the page or the book title at the start of this blog.  The book is listed under my adult book tab.)

