Use Me


So much of my week has been filled with what it is makes up the mission of Musical Gems: maintaining connection with my love of music, exploring and addressing roadblocks in my life, and using music to live life with more joy and fulfillment.  Life is full of challenges of all sizes and impacts.  My week has had those of a personal nature and those of others stories. Together, they have coalesced into a personal meditation of “use me”.  What follows is a summary of the journey leading to this mediation.

My week was spent preparing for a diagnostic I-131 whole body scan to see if my thyroid cancer had metastasized. After a month of no fish, I went on a full low iodine diet (no dairy, soy, products containing iodinized salt, etc.), received thyrogen injections two days (which made me feel as if I had the flu), ingest the I-131 capsule making me radioactive & restricted from touch others and limiting my time around them. For a person who loves to touch & be with people, this was what I found to be the most difficult and depressing.  At Friday’s scan the thyroid bed was too “hot” with radioactivity to allow for proper diagnosis resulting in a second scan next week along with an implication of more treatment needing to be considered.

While isolated, I spent a little more time on Facebook than usual.  A friend shared this video reminding me of how much I had to be thankful for even when in limited isolation.

Later this week, my brother-in-law posted the link to “Story of the Cracked Jar”  http://paulocoelhoblog.com/2009/12/11/the-cracked-jar-2/.  If you are not familiar with this story, please take a few seconds to read it.  Together, these and my experiences coalesced into a manta “Use me, Lord”.  A wonderful song began to fill my thoughts:  “Use Me”

( you can hear it atL http://www.web-church.com/kids_christian_music/use_me.htm)

along with this reading from the 12 chapter of Paul’s 2nd Letter to the Corinthians:

7… there was given me a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. 8Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. 9But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ‘s power may rest on me. 10That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

While I know not what lies ahead, I am surrounded by wonderful blessings and people.  It is for me to find a way to use these moments of challenge in my life to bless, to assist others in their journey, to sing songs about life’s journey.  So, I take time to accept my emotions and experiences, to focus my meditations of the joys that fill my life, and fill my world with songs like “Use Me” to serve as reminders of God‘s all sufficient grace in my life.

How do you deal with life’s challenges?  How does music or song fill these times for you?  What is your Musical Gem in the challenging moments of life?

